Walkern (‘Walchra’ in the Domesday book) is a village and civil parish in East Hertfordshire. It is located about four miles from Stevenage, close to the source of the River Beane, a chalk stream.

Walkern is noted as the home of Jane Wenham, who was in 1712 the last woman in England to be convicted of witchcraft and sentenced to death. Walkern’s rare octagonal dovehouse, built around 1700.

The River Beane crosses Church End at a scenic ford in the medieval heart of the village. The ford is overlooked by the 15th century Bridgefoot Farm and thatched Wych Elm cottage. Close by is a rare Wealden House.

The parish church of St Mary the Virgin is one of the oldest village churches in Hertfordshire, with a Saxon wall and rare chalk rood (crucifix) dating back to the middle 10th century. St Mary’s also houses a fine Purbeck marble effigy, most probably of William de Lanvalei, one of the Magna Carta barons.

Dating from 1810, the United Reformed Church is located at the North of the village.

Walkern has two pubs, the White Lion and the Yew Tree both serving excellent food. A centrally located convenience store/post office, tea rooms, a sports and community centre, several independent shops, an art gallery and a thriving Primary School.

In 2015 Walkern became twinned with the beautiful Breton village of Lanvallay, France, the ancestral seat of William de Lanvelei.

Numerous groups and associations exist in Walkern, the Walkern History Society, Friends of Lanvallay, Ardeley and Walkern Cricket Club to name but a few.

The blue riband event is the annual May Fair held on the Sunday preceding the first May bank holiday, a showcase for all local organisations/businesses and a fantastic family event.